Department Head of the Year

Haileybury’s Head of Mathematics, Mr Jason Fischer, won Department Head of the Year at the 2019 Australian Education Awards.

Mr Fischer achieved extraordinary results leading Australia’s largest school Mathematics Department. With his team, he ensures all campuses have a consistent and innovative curriculum, enhancing teaching standards and student results.

In 2018, 36 per cent of Further Mathematics students, 48 per cent of Mathematical Methods students (after scaling) and 68 per cent of Specialist Mathematics students (after scaling) achieved a study score of 40 or more.

The average scaled study score was 39 for Methods Units 3 & 4 and 43 for Specialist Mathematics.

Mr Fischer is passionate about his school, Mathematics, the teachers and students.

“I work hard, love my vocation and fully appreciate the opportunity and autonomy that Haileybury has given me so that I can give my all to my department,” he says.

Haileybury was also a finalist in the following four categories: School Principal of the Year – Non-government, Secondary School of the Year: Non-government, Primary School of the Year – Non-government and Best Professional Learning Program.

Learn More