Australian Education Award Nominations 2020

We are so thrilled to announce that Haileybury’s exceptional educators and world-class programs have been nominated for seven Australian Education Awards!

The Australian Education Awards celebrates the outstanding achievements of the country’s top performing schools and educators on a national level.

Haileybury has been shortlisted in the following award categories:

  • Primary School of the Year—Non-Government
  • Secondary School of the Year—Non-Government
  • Primary School Principal of the Year—Non-Government: Grenville Green
  • Education Rising Star of the Year: Melissa Allen
  • Best Use of Technology
  • Best Student Wellbeing Program
  • Best Professional Learning Program

Congratulations to all of our dedicated staff and teachers who have contributed to these categories. We are extremely proud of your efforts and grateful for all that you do.

Deputy Principal — Teaching and Learning (Junior School) Mr Grenville Green, has been instrumental in the success of Haileybury's Junior School, leading 25 Keysborough teachers and over 75 across the School in explicit teaching strategies.

Mr Green has also extended his leadership through collaborative practices to over 100 schools nationally and supported the primary teaching, learning and curriculum development at Haileybury Rendall School in Darwin.

His passion for teaching and continuous learning has guided the School and wider educational community to strive for continued growth, excellence and best practice.

A rising star at Haileybury, Ms Melissa Allen has established many new initiatives and programs in her first year as Head of Teaching and Learning (Middle School).

Ms Allen has contributed to the successful rollout of continuous live reporting, the Years 8 and 9 Elective Program Review, writing curriculum for new subjects, and delivered professional learning workshops on increasing engagement and building connections with students.

As someone who has students, colleagues, the school community and quality education programs front of mind in everything she does, Ms Allen is an admirable Rising Star nominee.

This is a record achievement for the School and we thank our community for their ongoing support of our staff and programs.

In 2019, Haileybury CEO | Principal, Mr Derek Scott, was named Australian School Principal of the Year and School Principal of the Year—Non-Government.

Head of Mathematics, Mr Jason Fischer, was named Department Head of the Year and the School won Best Professional Learning Program.

To read more about the 2020 Australian Education Awards click here.